About BAC

The D.C. Bicycle Advisory Council represents the interests of bicyclists in Washington, D.C., local government. The BAC is an official public commission that advises the D.C. Council on bicycle-related transportation matters.

The BAC evaluates legislation, policy and transportation infrastructure and makes advisory recommendations to the Council.

The BAC is comprised of 13 D.C. residents who are voting members. D.C. councilmembers each appoint one resident to the BAC.

BAC meetings are held at 6 p.m. on the first Wednesday of odd-numbered months at 441 4th St NW, 11th floor. Meetings are open to the public. ID is required to enter the building.

BAC committees generally meet in even-numbered months. The committees are Legislative, Facilities and Safety, Education and Enforcement and are open to the public. D.C. residents may serve on committees without holding a formal BAC appointment.

BAC members and committees

Emily Oaksford -
Representative for Brianne Nadeau (Ward 1)

David Alexander -
Representative for Jack Evans
(Ward 2)

Ellen Jones -
(Safety, Education and Enforcement Committee Chair)
Representative for Mary M. Cheh
(Ward 3)

James Salt -
Representative for Brandon Todd
(Ward 4)

Tom Bridge -
Representative for Kenyan McDuffie
(Ward 5)

David Cranor - (Chair)
- Representative for Charles Allen (Ward 6)

Vacant -
Representative for Yvette Alexander
(Ward 7)

Jay Stewart -
Representative for LaRuby May (Ward 8)
Vanessa Garrison -
Representative for Anita Bonds (At-Large)

Jeff Johnson -
Representative for Elissa Silverman (At-Large)

Erik Kugler -
Representative for David Grosso (At-Large)

Vacant -
Representative for  Vincent Orange (At-Large)

Michael Forster -
(Legislative Committee Chair)
Representative for Phil Mendelson

Jeanie Osburn -
Facilities Committee Chair

Contact the BAC

dcbicyclecouncil [at] gmail [dot] com

What you're saying on Twitter: